LPC176x I2C Driver

I’ve had a few requests for a LPC176x I2C driver.  During my development process on the LPC1768 LPCXpresso board, I wanted to design a simple I2C driver but I couldn’t find any simple examples.  Most of the drivers out there are complex and don’t have easy functionality for those who need a simple master only send/receive interface. I believe this one is simple enough to learn from.

Header File

Before writing a driver, you first need to make a specification of the interface.  I wanted my driver to be a basic send/receive interface where the slave is specified by address and the buffer is pre-allocated.  Here is the header file to my driver.

/*****************************************************************************
Copyright (c) 2011, Nic McDonald
All rights reserved.
Redistribution and use in source and binary forms, with or without
modification, are permitted provided that the following conditions
are met:
1. Redistributions of source code must retain the above copyright
notice, this list of conditions and the following disclaimer.
2. Redistributions in binary form must reproduce the above
copyright notice, this list of conditions and the following
disclaimer in the documentation and/or other materials provided
with the distribution.
THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED BY THE COPYRIGHT HOLDERS AND CONTRIBUTORS
"AS IS" AND ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTIES, INCLUDING, BUT NOT
LIMITED TO, THE IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS
FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE ARE DISCLAIMED. IN NO EVENT SHALL THE
COPYRIGHT OWNER OR CONTRIBUTORS BE LIABLE FOR ANY DIRECT, INDIRECT,
INCIDENTAL, SPECIAL, EXEMPLARY, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES (INCLUDING,
BUT NOT LIMITED TO, PROCUREMENT OF SUBSTITUTE GOODS OR SERVICES; LOSS
OF USE, DATA, OR PROFITS; OR BUSINESS INTERRUPTION) HOWEVER CAUSED AND
ON ANY THEORY OF LIABILITY, WHETHER IN CONTRACT, STRICT LIABILITY, OR
TORT (INCLUDING NEGLIGENCE OR OTHERWISE) ARISING IN ANY WAY OUT OF THE
USE OF THIS SOFTWARE, EVEN IF ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGE.
******************************************************************************
Copyright 2011
All Rights Reserved

Information:
File Name : i2c0.h
Author(s) : Nic McDonald
Project : Quadrotor
Hardware : LPCXpresso LPC1768
Purpose : I2C Driver

******************************************************************************
Modification History:
Revision Date Author Description of Revision
1.00 03/04/2011 NGM initial

******************************************************************************
Warning:
This I2C implementation is only for master mode. It also only
gives one transfer per transaction. This means that this driver
only does 'send' or 'receive' per function call. The user
functions 'receive' and 'send' are NOT thread safe.

*****************************************************************************/
#ifndef _I2C0_H_
#define _I2C0_H_

/* includes */
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <stdint.h>
#include "LPC17xx.h"

/* defines */
#define MODE_100kbps 100000
#define MODE_400kbps 400000
#define MODE_1Mbps 1000000

/* typedefs */

/* functions */

// Initialize the I2C hardware.
// see 'readme'
void i2c0_init(uint32_t i2c_freq, uint8_t int_pri);

// Performs a I2C master send function.
// Returns the number of bytes sent successfully.
// Returns 0xFFFFFFFF if slave did not response on bus.
// This is NOT thread safe.
uint32_t i2c0_send(uint8_t address, uint8_t* buffer, uint32_t length);

// Performs a I2C master receive function.
// Returns the number of bytes received successfully.
// Returns 0xFFFFFFFF if slave did not response on bus.
// This is NOT thread safe.
uint32_t i2c0_receive(uint8_t address, uint8_t* buffer, uint32_t length);

/*** DEBUG ***/uint8_t* i2c_buf(void);
/*** DEBUG ***/uint32_t i2c_pos(void);

#endif /* _I2C0_H_ */

Source File

Now that we have a good interface, let’s see what we need to implement.

/*****************************************************************************
Copyright (c) 2011, Nic McDonald
All rights reserved.
Redistribution and use in source and binary forms, with or without
modification, are permitted provided that the following conditions
are met:
1. Redistributions of source code must retain the above copyright
   notice, this list of conditions and the following disclaimer.
2. Redistributions in binary form must reproduce the above
   copyright notice, this list of conditions and the following
   disclaimer in the documentation and/or other materials provided
   with the distribution.
THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED BY THE COPYRIGHT HOLDERS AND CONTRIBUTORS
"AS IS" AND ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTIES, INCLUDING, BUT NOT
LIMITED TO, THE IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS
FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE ARE DISCLAIMED. IN NO EVENT SHALL THE
COPYRIGHT OWNER OR CONTRIBUTORS BE LIABLE FOR ANY DIRECT, INDIRECT,
INCIDENTAL, SPECIAL, EXEMPLARY, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES (INCLUDING,
BUT NOT LIMITED TO, PROCUREMENT OF SUBSTITUTE GOODS OR SERVICES; LOSS
OF USE, DATA, OR PROFITS; OR BUSINESS INTERRUPTION) HOWEVER CAUSED AND
ON ANY THEORY OF LIABILITY, WHETHER IN CONTRACT, STRICT LIABILITY, OR
TORT (INCLUDING NEGLIGENCE OR OTHERWISE) ARISING IN ANY WAY OUT OF THE
USE OF THIS SOFTWARE, EVEN IF ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGE.
******************************************************************************
                                Copyright 2011
                             All Rights Reserved

 Information:
   File Name  :  i2c0.c
   Author(s)  :  Nic McDonald
   Project    :  Quadrotor
   Hardware   :  LPCXpresso LPC1768
   Purpose    :  I2C Driver

******************************************************************************
 Modification History:
   Revision   Date         Author    Description of Revision
   1.00       03/04/2011   NGM       initial

*****************************************************************************/
#include "i2c0.h"

// IC2 control bits
#define AA      (1 << 2)
#define SI      (1 << 3)
#define STO     (1 << 4)
#define STA     (1 << 5)
#define I2EN    (1 << 6)

// pointers setup by users functions
static volatile uint8_t  slave_address; // formatted by send or receive
static volatile uint8_t* buf;
static volatile uint32_t buf_len;
static volatile uint32_t num_transferred;
static volatile uint32_t i2c0_busy;

static inline uint8_t to_read_address(uint8_t address);
static inline uint8_t to_write_address(uint8_t address);

/*************DEBUG**************************************************************************************/
uint8_t i2c_status_buf[100];
uint32_t i2c_status_pos;
uint8_t* i2c_buf(void) {return i2c_status_buf;}
uint32_t i2c_pos(void) {return i2c_status_pos;}
/*************DEBUG**************************************************************************************/

LPC_I2C_TypeDef*  regs;
IRQn_Type         irqn;
uint32_t ignore_data_nack = 1;


void i2c0_init(uint32_t i2c_freq, uint8_t int_pri) {
    uint32_t pclk, fdiv;

    regs = LPC_I2C0;
    irqn = I2C0_IRQn;

    // setup initial state
    i2c0_busy = 0;
    buf = NULL;
    buf_len = 0;
    num_transferred = 0;

    // give power to the I2C hardware
    LPC_SC->PCONP |= (1 << 7);

    // set PIO0.27 and PIO0.28 to I2C0 SDA and SCK
    LPC_PINCON->PINSEL1 &= ~0x03C00000;
    LPC_PINCON->PINSEL1 |=  0x01400000;

    // set peripheral clock selection for I2C0
    LPC_SC->PCLKSEL0 &= ~(3 << 14); // clear bits
    LPC_SC->PCLKSEL0 |=  (1 << 14); // set to "01" (full speed)
    pclk = SystemCoreClock;

    // clear all flags
    regs->I2CONCLR = AA | SI | STO | STA | I2EN;

    // determine the frequency divider and set corresponding registers
    //  this makes a 50% duty cycle
    fdiv = pclk / i2c_freq;
    regs->I2SCLL = fdiv >> 1; // fdiv / 2
    regs->I2SCLH = fdiv - (fdiv >> 1); // compensate for odd dividers

    // install interrupt handler
    NVIC_EnableIRQ(irqn);

    // set the priority of the interrupt
    NVIC_SetPriority(irqn, int_pri); // '0' is highest

    // enable the I2C (master only)
    regs->I2CONSET = I2EN;
}

uint32_t i2c0_send(uint8_t address, uint8_t* buffer, uint32_t length) {
    // check software FSM
    if (i2c0_busy)
        //error_led_trap(0x11000001, i2c0_busy, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0);
        return 0;

    // set to status to 'busy'
    i2c0_busy = 1;

    // setup pointers
    slave_address = to_write_address(address);
    buf = buffer;
    buf_len = length;
    num_transferred = 0;

    // trigger a start condition
    regs->I2CONSET = STA;

    // wait for completion
    while (i2c0_busy);

    // get how many bytes were transferred
    return num_transferred;
}

uint32_t i2c0_receive(uint8_t address, uint8_t* buffer, uint32_t length) {
    // check software FSM
    if (i2c0_busy)
        //error_led_trap(0x11000002, i2c0_busy, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0);
        return 0;

    // set to status to 'busy'
    i2c0_busy = 1;

    // setup pointers
    slave_address = to_read_address(address);
    buf = buffer;
    buf_len = length;
    num_transferred = 0;

    // trigger a start condition
    regs->I2CONSET = STA;

    // wait for completion
    while (i2c0_busy);

    // get how many bytes were transferred
    return num_transferred;
}

void I2C0_IRQHandler(void) {
    // get reason for interrupt
    uint8_t status = regs->I2STAT;

    // ignore data nack when control is true
    if ((status == 0x30) && (ignore_data_nack))
            status = 0x28;

    // LPC17xx User Manual page 443:
    //      "...read and write to [I2DAT] only while ... the SI bit is set"
    //      "Data in I2DAT remains stable as long as the SI bit is set."


    /**************************************DEBUG************************************************************/
    i2c_status_buf[i2c_status_pos] = status;
    i2c_status_pos++;
    if (i2c_status_pos > 99)
        i2c_status_pos = 0;
    /**************************************DEBUG************************************************************/


    switch(status) {

    // Int: start condition has been transmitted
    // Do:  send SLA+R or SLA+W
    case 0x08:
        regs->I2DAT = slave_address; // formatted by send or receive
        regs->I2CONCLR = STA | SI;
        break;

    // Int: repeated start condition has been transmitted
    // Do:  send SLA+R or SLA+W
    //case 0x10:
    //    regs->I2DAT = slave_address;
    //    regs->I2CONCLR = STA | SI;
    //    break;

    // Int: SLA+W has been transmitted, ACK received
    // Do:  send first byte of buffer if available
    case 0x18:
        if (num_transferred < buf_len) {
            regs->I2DAT = buf[0];
            regs->I2CONCLR = STO | STA | SI;
        }
        else {
            regs->I2CONCLR = STA | SI;
            regs->I2CONSET = STO;
        }
        break;

    // Int: SLA+W has been transmitted, NACK received
    // Do:  stop!
    case 0x20:
        regs->I2CONCLR = STA | SI;
        regs->I2CONSET = STO;
        num_transferred = 0xFFFFFFFF;
        i2c0_busy = 0;
        break;

    // Int: data byte has been transmitted, ACK received
    // Do:  load next byte if available, else stop
    case 0x28:
        num_transferred++;
        if (num_transferred < buf_len) {
            regs->I2DAT = buf[num_transferred];
            regs->I2CONCLR = STO | STA | SI;
        }
        else {
            regs->I2CONCLR = STA | SI;
            regs->I2CONSET = STO;
            i2c0_busy = 0;
        }
        break;

    // Int: data byte has been transmitted, NACK received
    // Do:  stop!
    case 0x30:
        regs->I2CONCLR = STA | SI;
        regs->I2CONSET = STO;
        i2c0_busy = 0;
        break;

    // Int: arbitration lost in SLA+R/W or Data bytes
    // Do:  release bus
    case 0x38:
        regs->I2CONCLR = STO | STA | SI;
        i2c0_busy = 0;
        break;

    // Int: SLA+R has been transmitted, ACK received
    // Do:  determine if byte is to be received
    case 0x40:
        if (num_transferred < buf_len) {
            regs->I2CONCLR = STO | STA | SI;
            regs->I2CONSET = AA;
        }
        else {
            regs->I2CONCLR = AA | STO | STA | SI;
        }
        break;

    // Int: SLA+R has been transmitted, NACK received
    // Do:  stop!
    case 0x48:
        regs->I2CONCLR = STA | SI;
        regs->I2CONSET = STO;
        num_transferred = 0xFFFFFFFF;
        i2c0_busy = 0;
        break;

    // Int: data byte has been received, ACK has been returned
    // Do:  read byte, determine if another byte is needed
    case 0x50:
        buf[num_transferred] = regs->I2DAT;
        num_transferred++;
        if (num_transferred < buf_len) {
            regs->I2CONCLR = STO | STA | SI;
            regs->I2CONSET = AA;
        }
        else {
            regs->I2CONCLR = AA | STO | STA | SI;
        }
        break;

    // Int: data byte has been received, NACK has been returned
    // Do:  transfer is done, stop.
    case 0x58:
        regs->I2CONCLR = STA | SI;
        regs->I2CONSET = STO;
        i2c0_busy = 0;
        break;

    // something went wrong, trap error
    default:
        while (1); // flash a LED or something😦
        break;

    }
}

static inline uint8_t to_read_address(uint8_t address) {
    return (address << 1) | 0x01;
}
static inline uint8_t to_write_address(uint8_t address) {
    return (address << 1);
}

As you can see, the implementation is fairly simple except for the interrupt handler. Fortunately, NXP is a great vendor when it comes to documentation. The user manual (found here) explains everything in detail. In fact, the state machine implemented in my driver’s interrupt handler is taken directly from the instructions in the manual. Each time an I2C event occurs, the I2C interrupter reports a status code. The user manual tells you exactly what to do for each status code. Using a large switch/case statement as I have done, leads to very short interrupt handling time.

I left some debugging code in there as I found it was extremely useful. The ‘i2c_buf’ and ‘i2c_pos’ functions allow me to retrieve information about the i2c transfer. The ‘i2c0_send’ and ‘i2c0_recv’ functions are mostly unconnected with the interrupts so there is no good way to figure what is going wrong when it does. Using a small buffer lets me see the order in which the interrupt status codes come. This allows me to determine what went wrong and why. This debug buffer isn’t flawless. I only used it to see one transaction length. I suggest removing it from the code once you verified that the driver works for you.

Conclusion

I hope that no one takes this code and uses it.  Instead, I’d hope that you’d take this code, verify it works in your system, then use it to start working on your own driver!  Making an I2C driver is a lot of fun and allows you to write code that heavily interacts with the hardware.  Making a finite state machine around the I2C status codes will really help you learn driver development. I2C is one of the more complicated protocols. UART, SPI, etc. are much easier and are a better starting point for a beginner. USB, Ethernet, CAN, etc. are more complicated than I2C. I2C presents a nice bridge between the extremely easy and the extremely hard.

Sample Usage:

#include <stdio.h>
#include "i2c0.h"
void main() {
    i2c0_init(MODE_400kbps, 3);
    char buf[100] = "hello";
    uint8_t slave = 0xEE;
    uint32_t res;
    if ((res = i2c0_send(slave, buf, sizeof(buf))) == 0xFFFFFFFF)
        /* slave did not response on bus */;
    if ((res = i2c0_recv(slave, buf, sizeof(buf))) == 0xFFFFFFFF)
        /* slave did not response on bus */;
    else {
        buf[res] = '\0';
        printf("Slave responded: %s\n", buf);
    }
}
    • Angie
    • February 11th, 2012

    Hi nic, I love your blog!

    • FabianH
    • July 26th, 2012

    Hi just a question about your code. Why did you comment the case 0x10 in your state machine ?

    • case 0x10 is commented out because I didn’t enable the “repeated start” in the code. Repeated start is good for batching I2C transactions together but makes the code quite a bit more complex.

    • alejandrabraden
    • February 3rd, 2013

    It’s difficult to find experienced people for this topic, however, you know what you’re talking about!

    Thanks

  1. Shiggy

    Your I2C driver looks like excellent.
    If possible, show me main routine which use I2C driver.

    • I added a “sample usage” at the bottom. Thanks for reading!

    • Murat Gunay
    • July 28th, 2013

    Dear Nic,

    I am trying to read SDP600 sensor data via I2C Bus. I tried using your code in order to this, but we got some errors. I am using Keil Uvision4 software. And some of the errors are as follows;

    The first error, i2c0.c(51): error: #18: expected a “)” in this row LPC_PINCON->PINSEL1 |= 0x01400000;
    second, i2c0.c(51): error: #79: expected a type specifier LPC_PINCON->PINSEL1 |= 0x01400000;
    – i2c0.c(51): error: #101: “LPC_PINCON_TypeDef” has already been declared in the current scope LPC_PINCON->PINSEL1 |= 0x01400000;
    – i2c0.c(51): error: #141-D: unnamed prototyped parameters not allowed when body is present LPC_PINCON->PINSEL1 |= 0x01400000;
    – i2c0.c(51): error: #130: expected a “{”
    – i2c0.c(51): error: #7: unrecognized token


    – …

    I wonder if you could help me about this problem.

    • Something must have gone crazy with WordPress because my code got messed up. I’ve fixed it. Try it now.

    • Murat Gunay
    • July 31st, 2013

    Dear Nic,
    I got error messages whenever ” regs ” is used.
    “regs” is defined but at this line “LPC_I2C_TypeDef *regs;” there is a problem. Could you help me. Thank you.

    • I use the LPCXpresso eclipse-based IDE. The “LPC_I2C_TypeDef” definition is a typedef of a struct defined in a header file for the cortex-m3 hardware. If your IDE is using a different header file, you’ll have to change all the references to the hardware registers. What IDE are you using?

        • Murat Gunay
        • August 24th, 2013

        I am using Keil uVision4

    • Warren
    • August 13th, 2013

    Hey Nic

    This is great, however when i use the sample usages it never gets to the printf part.i don’t fully understand why this is. I copied the code to match yours, as i wanted to get an understanding on how I2C works before attempting to writing my own. If i could send you a copy could you let me know where I’ve gone wrong that would be great,

    Cheers
    Warren

    • The code will only get to the printf() if everything worked properly. Add some statements in the failure cases to ensure you are at least getting there. Then print all values of the “i2c_buf” array. Those values are the status codes given by the I2C hardware. You should be able to see what went wrong.

      My guess is that you have a wrong I2C address, the I2C isn’t properly wired, or the I2C slave device is faulty. Let me know how it goes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

